Thursday, September 20, 2018

Please return to this page for program updates

3:00 – 4:30 pm

(LSC 308-10)

EPA Smart Sectors Roundtable Discussion 

You are invited to participate in the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s agriculture and food production Smart Sectors roundtable discussion prior to Thursday’s opening reception.

The roundtable is focused on identifying practical solutions to various environmental regulatory, permitting, and compliance challenges to achieve improved environmental outcomes.

Click here for more information.


(LSC Ballroom B)

Opening Reception

Friday, September 21, 2018

(LSC Ballroom C/D, unless noted otherwise)

7:45 a.m.

Buffet Breakfast

8:15 a.m.


Ajay Menon, Dean, College of Agricultural Sciences, Colorado State University; Director, Colorado Agricultural Experiment Stations

8:30 a.m.

Keynote Address/Q&A

10:00 a.m.

Networking Break 

10:30 a.m.

Panel - Innovation in Prevention & Prediction

  • Dr. Blake Bextine, Program Manager, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency
  • Dr. Mindy Brashears, Director, International Center for Food Industry Excellence, Texas Tech University; USDA Under Secretary for Food Safety Nominee

More panelists to be confirmed soon

12:00 p.m.

(LSC Ballroom B)

Lunch Buffet/Networking

12:45 p.m.

Keynote Address/Q&A

Sally Rockey, Executive Director, Foundation for Food & Agriculture Research 

1:45 p.m.

Networking Break 

2:15 p.m.

Panel Discussion - Innovation in Mitigation & Response

  • Alfred Almanza, Global Head of Food Safety and Quality Assurance, JBS

More panelists to be confirmed soon

3:45 – 4:30 pm

Closing Debrief - Honorary Event Chairs

  • Tom Vilsack, CEO and President of the US Dairy Export Council, former Iowa Governor and US Secretary of Agriculture; Strategic Adviser of Food & Water Initiatives at the National Western Center and Global Chair for the International Board of Counselors on Food & Water Initiatives

More panelists to be confirmed soon



Industry professional - $100

University faculty/staff - $50

Government/nonprofit - $50

Student - $10